Book Review: The Secret Runners of New York by Matthew Reilly

 The windows on all the skyscrapers are smashed . . . 
No power, no lights, no people . . . 
It’s a parallel New York of some kind.  

I give it… five stars!

Oh my! What a page turner. I could not put it down. But of course there were times where I had to… having a toddler and a four month old is not a read-a-book-all-day-without-interruption kind of gig.

This is one of those books where when things go down – they go down fast – and you just can’t read fast enough… though you want to know what’s next so badly! It kept me interested the whole time.

I had plenty of questions throughout that I couldn’t wait to be answered. As I found myself further into the book and certain things came to light, I realised… some clues had been planted. Sneaky.

It was written well, and easy to understand, as mind boggling as the time travel was at times.

Skye (the main character, along with her twin brother, Red): is a great character, she is someone I’d want on my side. The kind of girl who won’t abandon you or judge you based on the amount of money you or your family has. The other characters: I think most of us have come across similar personalities throughout high school, and sometimes even afterwards. I feel you could relate to situations and people in this book no matter what age you are.

This book teaches you a few things about social status, mean girls, survival and really makes you think about what you’d do if the end of the world was coming. I found this to be quite realistic. A bit too believable. Eek!

If you want to read a book that you’ll get lost in and almost forget time travel isn’t real (sadly!) then read this book. Matthew Reilly is quite the writer.

Please let me know what you thought of this book, I’m always ready to discuss anything book related.

…In the meantime, I’m off in search of the next Matthew Reilly book to add to my collection. Scarecrow just might be the next one. Thoughts? Any suggestions? So many to choose from, and so little time to read them all.