Some Of The Most Commonly Confused Words.

If you constantly find yourself getting confused with the following words, you aren’t alone!

Welcome, Word Lovers! I have compiled a list of the most commonly confused words along with their meanings – you’ll also find the correct way to use them in a sentence. Next time you find yourself feeling stuck – come on over to this post for a refresher! Let’s get started!

THERE/THEIR/THEY’RE:
These ones are commonly mixed up, but don’t let them fool you any longer…

~~~~~

AFFECT/EFFECT:
Is your spelling effecting you? Or is it affecting others? Don’t be confused any longer! Look below…

~~~~~

KNEW/NEW:
I knew, that you knew, that this blog post was new. What?! Look below.

~~~~~

BREATH/BREATHE:
Just breathe through it!

~~~~~

DEFIANTLY/DEFINITELY:
He was definitely acting defiantly!

~~~~~

AD/ADD:
I had to add a few things to my ‘looking for great spellers’ ad!

~~~~~

PIECE/PEACE:
I want a piece of cake, but I am going to keep the peace and not take any – I don’t want war!

~~~~~

QUIET/QUITE/QUIT:
I was being quite quiet while trying to quit cigarettes, so I could concentrate on not smoking!

~~~~~

PRESENCE/PRESENTS:
I would love your presence more so than any presents, as spending time with my friends is enough for me.

~~~~~

PATIENTS/PATIENCE:
I have no patience for anyone not being less than lovely to my patients.

~~~~~

BROUGHT/BOUGHT:
I brought this to you from the store that I bought it from, you’re welcome!

~~~~~

WHETHER/WEATHER:
I don’t know whether the weather will be good or not, but let’s hope it doesn’t rain!

~~~~~

THAN/THEN:
I am much better at maths than I was once, then again I am still not very good at it!

~~~~~

WHO’S/WHOSE:
Whose cake is this? And who’s going to eat it?

~~~~~


That’s it for today! Stay tuned for my next post: Capitalisation!

Until next time,

Emma xx